Highlights and News

Cristopher Moen will receive the MAJR Medal

Cristopher D. Moen, Associate Professor in Structural Engineering and Materials will be awarded the Maguire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR) Medal for 2017 by the Structural Stability Research Council (SSRC). The award recognizes the research activity of the candidate in a period not exceeding nine years after obtaining his/her Ph.D. degree. Moen’s primary research interests Read more…

Sam Easterling reappointed Montague-Betts Professor of Structural Steel Design

Sam Easterling, professor and head of the Charles Edward Via Jr. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech, has been reappointed the Montague-Betts Professor of Structural Steel Design by Virginia Tech President Timothy D. Sands and Executive Vice President and Provost Thanassis Rikakis. The Montague-Betts Professorship of Structural Read more…

Roberto T. Leon elected as a Distinguished Member of ASCE

In October, 2015, Roberto T. Leon, David H. Burrows Professor of Structural Engineering and Materials was elected to the Class of 2015 ASCE Distinguished Members. The honor was given at New York City at the ASCE Annual Convention. Read the entire article published by ASCE News about Dr. Leon.